So You Think You Can Dance (SYTYCD)

SYTYCD logo

So You Think You Can Dance is an American televised dance competition show that airs on Fox in the United States and is the flagship series of the international So You Think You Can Dance television franchise. The series premiered on July 20, 2005 with over ten million viewers and ended the summer season as the top-rated show on television.” – Wikipedia

Been catching snippets of it when I walked by the TV in the hall and was intrigued by it from the 1st day I saw it. Despite having 2 left feet and absolute zilch sense of coordination or any form of balance & poise, I love watching people dance. The “Step Up” movies are one of my favorite series, and I’ve always loved watching ‘dance-heavy’ MTVs (despite the songs not necessarily being on my playlist) on YouTube. However, have never gotten down to actually watching any of the seasons of SYTYCD…

Until recently.

Season 8 is where I started with, and I must say, I’ve been hooked since the audition round. Some of the performances have left me going what the f**k… in a positive way, that is. Like seriously, how in the world can people move that way? Don’t they have any bones? LOL ~ the female dancers of this particular season have been totally impressive. The strength they have, the agility and the poise is absolutely impressive. The guys aren’t bad either, but ehh… I’ve always preferred to watch female dancers, especially in the Contemporary genre.

One of my favorite performances is definitely:-

 

While I don’t think it is the best of the season (there are many others even better technically), it is one routine that never fails to make me smile every time I watch it – and I have watched it more than 10x since. The storyline is so darn sweet! Plus… don’t you think Marko & Melanie look absolutely cute together?

kk I admit. Like many other girls, I’ve managed to develop a slight crush on Marko 😀

Anyway, I wonder, if anyone who watches SYTYCD and not be inspired to dance. I don’t mean dance competitively. Neither do I mean those ridiculous spasms peeps do when they get tipsy in clubs. I mean… taking up some dance lessons, learning some choreographed steps and picking up some basic skills. Granted that some people are just natural-born dancers – those are the lucky ones. Then there are the unlucky ones such as myself, who can barely keep up with the steps in aerobics classes (hence I hate them) nor balance even if their lives depended on it (I suck at yoga & Pilates too). But shouldn’t everyone learn to dance sometime?

I wonder how I’ll fare in dance classes. Have always been keen to learn some form of dance, but am just unwilling to make the time & commitment for it. Neither am I sure which type I should be going for. Not to mention, I’m absolutely not keen to make a fool of myself in front of others. Haha. I don’t like group classes, makes me feel silly, and I only attend the ones @ the gym cos I’ve already paid for it >_<” Guess that’s the reason why I haven’t gone to sign up for some martial arts class yet, despite really wanting to.

Ah well ~ here’s hoping that by the time I start watching the Season 9 of SYTYCD, I’d have plucked up sufficient courage to sign up for something new… be it martial arts or dance. That being said, gonna make it “official” by placing it under my Bucket List for 2013 =)

Leave a Reply

