Super Star K (Korean BBQ Restaurant), Tanjong Pagar

Celebrated a friend’s birthday at Super Star K last Sunday *\(^_^)/*

It was the first time I ever heard of the place, and I don’t deny that I had my doubts initially as the name sounds kinda un-restaurantlike (yes, I know there is no such word), dining is ala-carte – worried about bill shock lah, and face it… Korean BBQ – it’s gonna end up a sweaty greasy experience, right?  However, as I mentioned, it’s a friend’s birthday.  So what the birthday girl wants, the birthday girl gets!  And boy were my thoughts proven totally wrong.

Our reservations was for 7:30pm, but as the majority were late (arrived at 8pm instead) & E, who made the reservation, did not answer her phone when the restaurant called to check, our tables were given up and we were made to wait outside for about 20min.  There were chairs there, and luckily for us, it was not too warm an evening, so thankfully, the wait wasn’t too bad – it was our fault anyway.

Peeking in thru’ the glass window, I was intrigued.  Round tables are put together as close as they could be comfortable and every table has this grill area in the middle with a ‘chimney’ like suction thingy hovering above it… most likely to suck up the fumes from the BBQ.  We were seated near the door, and honestly, it was quite a squeeze for 5 not-too-huge girls.  I suppose, larger groups will have to split up and sit separately cos it doesn’t look like the tables can be moved.  Meh… was too hungry by the time we entered, and was occupied with the food so much that I forgot to take a photo of the place >_<

What I did take was…

Superstar K

As mentioned, it was quite a tight space for 5, but manageable.  Everyone is given their own little ‘tray-plate’ with condiments & sauces to have their meat with.  Cooking was done by the Korean staff (they do not speak much English but they are totally polite and attentive) – the entire steak of meat put on the grill area, cooked a little, then cut up to smaller pieces and cooked a little more.

The food was great!  We had beef, marinated pork, marinated chicken (was a tad too spicy for my liking) + sides like kimchi, bean sprouts, green veg, potato salad… and of cos, the steamed egg.  OMG the steamed egg came in a relatively huge bowl, was piping hot & absolutely yummy!  Our total bill came up to S$149.50 which was decent.

Ahhh… the best part?  It was not warm or greasy at all, unlike most other Korean BBQ places.  We left the restaurant just smelling mildy of food (LOL I sniffed myself a lot b4 I showered).  Wonderful.  A place that I’ll definitely revisit 😀

Super Star K

75 Tanjong Pagar Road, Singapore 088496

Opens 5:30pm – 02:00am

Tel: 6224-0504

Leave a Reply

