I have Plantar Fasciitis. What now?

A short consultation and a brief explanation later, the podiatrist I saw yesterday diagnosed me with the dreaded Plantar Fasciitis. I was then told to rest for “a couple of weeks”, continue doing calf stretches and try wearing my NewBalance with the prescribed Vasyli insoles – if that still doesn’t lessen the discomfort with that pair of shoes, I should ditch them & get new ones (well… that was already my intention, am just waiting for a S$50 running store voucher that I will be receiving with one of the races I signed up for irl). My medical bill came up to S$157.00, of which S$120.00 were the cost of the insoles.

Am experiencing a little cognitive dissonance here. I can’t help feeling that I should have waited to get a new pair of running shoes before agreeing to try the insoles. It is f**king expensive, and am not sure 100% if it helps. I slipped them into my shoes for the first time this morning, and wore them to work. It was a >15min walk to the MRT station + another 5min or so up to the office, and not only did it feel uncomfortable, my right foot (which was never the problem) start to hurt a little too. I suspect the problem might be the shoes – the way it’s constructed, there’s a hard “bump” around the heel area that the magnified… it feels more “bumpy” now.

Now I’ve got these insoles, I wonder, when I get fitted for a new pair of shoes… should I bring those insoles along and get a pair of shoes which accommodates it OR should I just ignore the S$120.00 spent >_<”

I have flat foot. My left. Correcting that would help with the recovery from plantar fasciitis, he said. Mhmm… weird that the podiatrist didn’t do any tests, except pressing on my heel a little, before making the diagnosis. /sigh I hope it recovers. I already have chronic dry eyes (using eye drops daily), I don’t want chronic foot pain too!

My main frustration?

I can’t run for ‘a couple of weeks’. So wth am I supposed to do? The podiatrist seems to think that I would be content doing nothing at all. No. I’m not a seasoned runner. Am worried that resting for 2-3 weeks will totally ruin any progress I’ve made and bring me back to square one. I don’t only want to finish a race, I want to do well! While I don’t aspire to be a podium finisher, but at the least I wanna finish in the first half, not be a straggler… and I don’t wish to stop at a mere 5k. I wanna go on, do a 10k next year and eventually a full marathon. Argghh with all these issues, am I EVER gonna be able to do that? OTL

Seriously, why ME?

I’ve read stories of people who go from couch to 5k literally, who have no issues. I even know people who just suddenly decide to turn their life around and go running one day, with no issues. Ugh, how is that when I wanna do something, I hit a brick wall? I’m not overweight even now (am only 48kg or so), and I was quite the active teenager – I ran, I played soccer for school, I swam heaps & I cycle long distances through the night. All I did was become a potato for slightly more than a decade and this happens. I know Life isn’t fair… but wtf man, WTF.

Pftt sorry, I know there are people out there who are suffering from much worse that aren’t uttering a word but… just felt like whining a little >_<”

Now what?

The Kranji Countryside Run is on 11/08, followed by The Color Run on 18/08. Thankfully there’s some time till then. I reckon it should be fine if I go run-free for 2 weeks+, do an easy 3k jog on the treadmill on 05/08, an easy 5k outdoors on 07/08 Aug (Zombies, Run! without the zombie chases) then off again till 11/08. I hope my foot will have healed up somewhat by then. In the meantime, I’ll do my stretches religiously (lol, I’m not a religious person), probably buy a golf ball to roll my foot and limit walking, at least till end of this week.

Doesn’t mean I’m not gonna cross train. There was a time, not too long ago, that I would come out with tons of excuses to not go to the gym. I’m not that person anymore, and I don’t wish to revert to being so. From what I gathered online, cross-training is safe to do while recovering from plantar fasciitis. I’ll maybe go for a swim this weekend (depending on weather as the pools here are outdoors), then starting next week, head to the gym to use the elliptical & stationary bike. I reckon yoga or pilates should be fine too.

If anyone reading this has any suggestions or tips to offer, I’ll be grateful. Though there are already plenty online & I’m reading as much as I can, more wouldn’t hurt =)

Will I ever “recover” fully? I don’t think so. It’s likely I’ll have to live with this for the rest of my Life and adapt as I go along, but…

running

9 responses to “I have Plantar Fasciitis. What now?

  1. Having a few days rest wont hurt your running endurance any. Maybe you could do some cross training, or bike riding for cardio work. For you foot you could ice it with a bag of frozen peas (I bought a cheap bag just for my legs).

  2. Weird question but… am serious. Do u eat the peas after?

  3. Yeah plantar fasciitis is a major pain. What I recommend is to do strength workouts with your lower body so that your plantar fasciitis will become less inflamed.

    Also with the injured foot, I recommend deep foot self-massage. The thing with the fasciitis is that it affects the plantar fascia, which doesn’t get much blood flow. This means that it WILL take quite a while for it to recover 100%. Do the massage so that you can allow more blood flow. Like that guy up there said, apply ice 10-15 minutes. Massage afterwards. Good luck with your fasciitis!

  4. Take plantar fasc seriously. I used to get it all the time. If you don’t let it heal all the way, it comes back really fast, especially if you increase your mileage too quickly or run on old shoes for too long. Keep icing and stretching your calves. I know you are apprehensive about the insoles but I constantly had a problem with PF and I finally got fitted for orthotics and have never had a problem since. I definitely recommend taking them to your running store when you get a new pair of shoes because that will sometimes impact how much support your running shoe will need (if the salesperson knows what he’s talking about). Adding support with insoles means you can get away with getting a shoe with not as much support.

Leave a Reply

