2014: The Running Year Ahead

Registration for races in 2014 have started to open one after another.

I have started to “plan” my run calendar with the intention to take part in an average of 2 events per month.  In 2013, I’ve stuck with 5k or lesser distances.  For the next year, I’m adding 10k distances into the mix, and with that, my choice pool just got a whole lot larger.  Definitely, should time permit, I will be entering the “larger” events such as the Sundown Marathon and SCB Marathon.  Will likely be tossing in some charity runs & those with lower registration fees into the mix as too… and will probably pass on “fun stuff” like the Color Run or Race the Dead (fail event).  Am unsure about the verticals though – will have to see if my funds allow.

That being said, I have registered for 4 so far, and am contemplating on the 5th.

Run For Your Lives | 11 January 2014 | The Padang | Official Website

5k obstacle course, zombie themed.  Keeping fingers cross that this, being a largely successful event in the US, will be heaps better than Race the Dead.   Have registered as a runner for the 7pm wave ~ rawr!!

Terry Fox Run | 16 February 2014 | Big Splash ECP | Official Website

A charity run fundraising for cancer research.  I have heard about Terry Fox since I was child, and even back then, I was impressed.  I just didn’t know till much later, that it was an event that normal people could actually participate!  When I started running this year, this was the 1st event that I searched for, but unfortunately by then, the 2013 run was over.  Told myself that I will take part in 2014 and yep, this is it.  Now to persuade my parents to go for some fun too :Þ

2XU Compression Run | 2 March 2014 | Official Website

Registered for this pretty much on the spur of the moment, when I was feeling highly motivated.  *chuckles*  well ~ I DO need a reason to increase the mileage for my training sessions and looks like this is gonna be my 1st 10K event of 2014.

Green Corridor Run | 18 May 2014 | T. Pagar Rail Station | Official Website

I might have bitten off more than I could chew on this one.  A 10.5km trail run.  I have NEVER ran on trail before, and there isn’t one nearby that I can train on.  Well… the nearest is a bus ride away and I know I’ll be too lazy to do it unless I find a training partner (wish me luck on that).  Plus it is a 10am start.  I just hope I can finish this in one piece, injury-free.

For a country as tiny as Singapore, it is quite the wonder to see races being held almost every weekend.  Then again, we do have a population of over 5 million, and a really huge running community (inferring from the massive turn out that the races I’ve attended last year) who don’t seem to mind shelling out all that $$ to the race organizers.  Registration fees aren’t cheap, mind you.  5k & 10k prices are around the S$50 mark, more for half & full marathons.

And that makes me ponder… why do runners pay all that $ to run in an event when they can effectively run for free on the sidewalk anytime, any day?  What drives people to wake up at an ungodly hour (personal perception of cos), haul themselves down to the starting point and clusterf**k with thousands of others?  I mean… wouldn’t it be more enjoyable when running alone?

I don’t get it.

I do it.  But I don’t get it.  LOL

Leave a Reply

